top of page

Updated on 21 October 2021



Security Council members which belong to the ACT group

When the “Accountability, Coherence and Transparency Group for better working methods for today’s UN Security Council” (ACT) was launched in 2013, it was initially made up of twenty-one States: Austria, Chile, Costa Rica, Estonia, Finland, Gabon, Hungary, Ireland, Jordan, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania and Uruguay. 


In subsequent months, Denmark, Ghana, Luxembourg, Maldives, Rwanda, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines joined ACT. Then in 2015, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Tanzania, ceased to be members. Somewhat later, Ecuador and Latvia joined the group.


Thus presently 27 States belong to ACT, with a regional composition as follows: 


Africa (4): Gabon, Ghana, Maldives, Rwanda


Asia-Pacific (3): Jordan, Papua New Guinea, Saudi Arabia


Eastern Europe (4): Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Slovenia


Latin America and Caribbean States (5): Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay


Western Europe and Other States (11): Austria, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland


Of these 27 ACT members, Estonia, Ireland and Norway are serving on the Security Council in 2021. In 2022, four ACT members will be sitting on the Council: Gabon, Ghana, Ireland and Norway.  


(This update supplements page 677 and footnote 6 on page 681 of the book.)




bottom of page