top of page

Posted on 8 June 2019

Chapter 3:  THE PEOPLE

Section 4:   Regional and other groups


Seven members belonging to the Non-Aligned Movement will sit on the Council in 2020


Of the countries serving terms on the Security Council in 2020, seven will be full members of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM):  Dominican Republic, Indonesia, Niger, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, South Africa, Tunisia and Viet Nam.  This is the same number as in 2019.*  In 2012, a high of eight Council members belonged to the Movement. 


With 125 full members, the Non-Aligned Movement is the world’s second largest international organization, following after the United Nations itself, which has 193 members.  When the additional 24 States which have observer status with the Non-Aligned Movement are considered, only 44 UN Member States lack a NAM affiliation.


As described in the book (pages 145-146), the NAM was originally defined by its independence from both the “Western bloc” of the United States and its European and other allies, and the Soviet Union and other Communist States.  Although markedly less than during the Cold War, the Non-Aligned Movement today can still be an important identification for those elected Council members which belong to it.  As described in the book,


“Under a convenor, which rotates each month in alphabetical order, the non-aligned Council members meet periodically as a ‘caucus’, usually at the level of permanent representative. . . .  Membership in the NAM also ties the non-aligned Council members to the very active NAM membership in the wider UN system. . . .  The NAM as a whole has a Joint Coordinating Bureau, in conjunction with the broader ‘Group of 77’ developing countries, which coordinates action on specific issues, some of which relate to matters before the Security Council, particularly the situation in the Middle East.  Occasionally, the country chairing the Non-Aligned Movement at the United Nations makes a statement on behalf of the NAM in the Council’s open debates . . .”


The NAM members serving on the Council over the past decade are as follows:


2020 (7):  Dominican Republic, Indonesia, Niger, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, South Africa, Tunisia and Viet Nam

2019 (7):  Côte d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, South Africa

2018 (6)   Bolivia, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Kuwait, Peru

2017 (4)   Bolivia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Senegal

2016 (5)   Angola, Egypt, Malaysia, Senegal, Venezuela

2015 (7)   Angola, Chad, Chile, Jordan, Malaysia, Nigeria, Venezuela

2014 (5)   Chad, Chile, Jordan, Nigeria, Rwanda

2013 (6)   Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan, Rwanda, Togo

2012 (8)   Azerbaijan, Colombia, Guatemala, India, Morocco, Pakistan, South Africa, Togo

2011 (6)   Colombia, Gabon, India, Lebanon, Nigeria, South Africa

2010 (4)   Gabon, Lebanon, Nigeria, Uganda


(This update supplements pages 145-146 of the book.)


* Poland, which served on the Council in 2018 and 2019, was formerly a NAM member but withdrew in 2004, at the time it joined the European Union.



bottom of page