top of page

Updated on 4 October 2015


Section 1:   Military Staff Committee


Military Staff Committee Liaison Officers


The Military Staff Committee Secretariat consists of the Principal Secretary/Liaison Officer and an administrative assistant.  The Principal Secretary/Liaison Officer rotates among nationals of the five Council members – China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States – which are members of the Military Staff Committee.  For the duration of his/her appointment, the Liaison Officer is a UN staff member serving as an international civil servant.


The terms of the early Principal Secretaries/Liaison Officers were open-ended, with the first incumbent serving twenty consecutive years.  Then, by its MS/2130 of 16 July 1981, the Military Staff Committee decided that the post would rotate every five years.


A table of the Principal Secretaries/Liaison Officers to date is attached.



bottom of page